Mission Statement

The International Federation for Theatre Research exists to promote collaboration and the exchange of information between individuals and organisations concerned with theatre research. To this end the Federation supports conferences and publications and assists its members in all such activities and projects.

Follow us



Posted: November 10, 2015

Prizes 2015-16


The IFTR runs two annual essay competitions for the New Scholars' Prize and Helsinki Prize. There is no set theme for these competitions; rather, candidates are encouraged to submit work drawing on their current research. Essays developed from papers presented at the New Scholars' Forum of the preceding conference are acceptable.


To apply for either the New Scholars' Prize or the Helsinki Prize, applicants must be classified as a new scholar by the Federation. A New Scholar is defined as a graduate student or post-doctoral researcher whose PhD has been completed less than three years ago, or a researcher without a PhD who has been in an academic post for less than three years. Membership of IFTR is not necessary to enter the competition, but prize-winners will need to join the Federation to attend the conference or receive mentoring.


Please Note: submitting an entry for either competition does not constitute a conference enrolment. Applicants wanting to attend the conference should send abstracts to the organizers as outlined in the conference call for papers.


Members of the Prizes committee and judges for the 2015/16 New Scholars' Prize and Helsinki Prize are Aoife Monks (UK), Hayato Kosuge (Japan), Prarthana Purkayastha (UK), Sandra D'Urso (Australia) and Hanna Korsberg (Finland).


NB *The deadline for the New Scholars' Prize and the Helsinki Prize is 15 December 2015 (23:59 GMT).