Follow us


Helsinki Prize

Posted: November 10, 2015


Helsinki Prize 2015-16

The Helsinki Prize was founded by the student Congress Team of the 2006 IFTR/FIRT World Congress in Helsinki. Since 2011, it has been offered annually by IFTR to a promising new scholar who may be a postgraduate or lecturer at any university, but whose country of origin and of first degree-level studies is in Africa, Asia, South America or the Middle East, and who wishes to participate in an IFTR conference.

The prize is awarded on the basis of academic merit and strives to promote the exchange and networking of new scholars in developing regions, and to encourage research in the field of theatre in their countries. The prize would enable the winner(s) to attend the 2016 IFTR conference at the University of Stockholm, Sweden. It covers the following costs: conference registration, economy travel and student accommodation (or equivalent) for the duration of the conference. For details of the 2016 conference visit the IFTR website

Submissions for the Helsinki Prize should include a scholarly essay of 4000 words maximum (in English only), the applicant's curriculum vitae, and a letter of recommendation by the applicant's supervisor or academic mentor. Entries must be accompanied by a cover sheet, which can be downloaded HERE. Send entries and supporting documents in MS Word format to the Chair of the Prize Committee, Prof. Hanna Korsberg This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Results of the competitions will be announced in the end of February 2016. The prize-winner is expected to make their travel and accommodation arrangements, and will be reimbursed (via bank transfer) upon submission of receipts to the IFTR Treasurer after the conference. Entrants are eligible to apply for a conference bursary, but any bursary awarded will be withdrawn in the event of winning this prize, since this prize already covers conference expenses.

NB *The deadline for the Helsinki Prize is 15 December 2015 (23:59 GMT).