Follow us


New Scholars' Prize

Posted: October 6, 2012

New Scholars' Prize 2013-14 

The New Scholars' Prize is awarded to the best essay, judged on originality, coherence and rigour. The prize would enable the winner to attend the 2014 IFTR conference at the University of Warwick,UK by covering the costs of conference registration, economy travel expenses, and student accommodation (or equivalent) for the duration of the conference. For details of the 2014 conference click on The 2013/14 New Scholars' Prize will be awarded to up to 3 individuals who are adjudged as having the best essays.

The author(s) of the winning essay(s) will be encouraged to submit the same for publication in Theatre Research International, at the discretion of the editor. Where appropriate, the judges will also select several of the submitted essays for mentoring by senior scholars, prioritising contestants from developing countries.

Essays must not exceed 4000 words (excluding bibliography) and should not be published or submitted for publication in advance of the award announcement. Candidates should submit entries (in English or French) electronically as an e-mail attachment. They will be judged anonymously; hence, the author's name must not appear anywhere in the essay itself. All submissions should be carefully presented and referenced, and must be accompanied by a cover sheet, which can be downloaded HERE. Send entries, preferably in Word format, to the Chair of the Prizes' Committee, Dr Kene Igweonu at Canterbury Christ Church University, UK ( This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. ).

Results of the competition will be announced in the first week of February 2014, and all applicants will be notified. The prize-winners are expected to make their own travel and accommodation arrangements, and will be reimbursed (via a bank account) upon submission of receipts at the conference. Entrants are eligible to apply for a conference bursary, but any bursary awarded will be withdrawn in the event of winning this prize, since this prize already covers conference expenses.

New Scholars' Prize application deadline: 1 December 2013.